Become a Member


NONM elects new NEC members

Delegates to a two-day Biennial General Meeting (BGM) of the National Organisation of Nurses and Midwives of Malawi (NONM) have elected new office bearers into the National Executive Committee (NEC).

The new NEC, whose President is Shouts Simeza,the Principal for St John of God Nursing College in Mzuzu has been given the mandate to govern the operations of the organisation in the next four years.

Simeza, replaces veteran health advocate, Dorothy Ngóma who has served the organisation both as an Executive Director and President for many years.

In his acceptance speech after being elected, Simeza promised to prioritize issues affecting the welfare of nurses and midwives in Malawi for their socio-economic wellbeing.

“I would like to thank each one of you for entrusting me with this position in the next four years. I did not have a manifesto during my campaign period for I knew my manifesto is with you colleagues. I will therefore, along with my committee engage you to develop action plans on how we should operate as a union,” he said.

He said NONM will strive to complement government’s efforts in supporting and at the same time providing quality health care services to Malawians.

“We will also advocate and lobby government to address some of our concerns as nurses and midwives in Malawi while maintaining our professionalism as well,” said Simeza.

Speaking when he opened this sixth BGM, Minister of Health and Population,Atupere Muluzi said NONM is a great partner to the Malawi Government, particularly the Ministry of Health, through the support it renders to Malawians. “Your membership which is available in government, private and Christian Health Association of Malawi (CHAM) Hospitals plays a crucial role in delivering quality patient care,” said Muluzi.

Apart from Simeza being elected as President, others included; Hanna Mtemangómbe (1st Vice President),Osman Assan (2nd Vice President),Tawile Boko (National Treasure),Tuwepo Mwitha (Vice National Treasure) and Febby Magawa,Alufeyo Chirwa,Violet Bandawe,Dunken Kwaitana and Memory Saidi as Zone Chairpersons for Northern region,Central East,Central West,South West and South East zones respectively.

About 3000 delegates from all the zones in Malawi attended this sixth BGM.